Needing your thoughts and prayers

Last week when I posted, “When it rains, it pours” I really meant “When it pours it turns into a deluge”

I am writing this from the night shift at work.  I just received some very upsetting news about Ferris, my cat.  Apparently my husband noticed some string coming out of his bottom…long story short he ended up taking him to the emergency vet and my cat just underwent emergency exploratory surgery.  They ended up removing over 7 FEET of string from his intestines.  He is on a lot of pain meds now and they are keeping him for at least 2 more nights.  My heart is broken and I am in complete shock.  It is so hard to be here when I want to be there with him.  He is such a crazy cat he LOVES to eat string- we try so hard to keep it away from him.  Sean said he didn’t even know where this string could have come from.  I am praying so hard for him right now, that he isn’t in pain, isn’t scared.  And I am praying for Phoebe, his sister, who has never been separated from him ever.  These cats have been through so much already and here he is having exploratory surgery…I feel so guilty but I don’t know what I could have done.  We try so hard to keep stringy things away from him.  I also feel guilty because I am freaking out that they estimated the cost to be at least 2K, which we do not have.  Not that it isn’t worth it- we would go into the poor house for them…but still.

Please send your thoughts and prayers for a speedy recovery for my little boy.  Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart.

5 responses to “Needing your thoughts and prayers

  1. I am so sorry! Sending good thoughts for Ferris. And please don’t feel guilty, cats sometimes eat things they should’t.

  2. I’m really sorry to hear this…I hope the little guy is okay…sending positive vibes your way.

  3. I am so sorry to hear about Ferris, but don’t beat yourself up, you are doing everything you can for the little guy. I hope he is OK and the family will be together again soon.

  4. Aw, I hope your feline friend is ok! It’s so hard when pets get sick.

  5. Oh dear. My best friend’s cat did that about two years ago… Don’t beat yourself up about it. I’m glad your kitty’s home now and recovering.

Leave a comment